So, where to even begin?

Posted by Russell 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
So, where to even begin?
December 01, 2007 01:28PM
I'm extremely interested in the Marvel RPG and all it's facets, but I've got zero previous RPG experience. I've got no idea where I'd start to learn the intricacies of this one... Lot of things to take in. Kind of overwhelming.

Eh. Anyone?
Re: So, where to even begin?
December 01, 2007 02:21PM
Private message sent.

TAG
Re: So, where to even begin?
December 01, 2007 03:34PM
Thanks!
At the beginning. An over simplified version of RPing
December 07, 2007 10:47PM
Well, I'm assuming that TAGs PM he sent you was an invitation to tea, a tirade about the unfair system of feudal land ownership or an offer to purchase a time share in Ft. Lauderdale. It's like I'm psychic, isn't it, Russell?

So I'll help you out. You obviously know how to surf the net, so one of us should let Russel read a Play By Post role playing game thread. I think that would show just how easy it is. Because while there are "game mechanics" involved, just like in chess, monolopoly and poker, with RPGs, the rules are not the most imortant part of the game; it's the "playing of a role" that is most important.

So if I said, "OK, Iron Man (let's assume that's you), some bad guys just robbed a bank, took a hostage and as you arrive on the scene, they peel out in their car and take off. What do you do?"

Well?

Hopefully, you'd take off after them. Or maybe check for injuries at the bank. But you'd describe your action. That is the basis of the game. All role playing games.

The one person describing the action for you is usually called something like: Game Master, Dungeon Master, Judge or Referee. You are the player. Iron Man (or whoever you decide to play or invent) is the player's "character" or Player Character or PC.