instant messenger game

Posted by Random stranger #3 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
instant messenger game
May 01, 2006 11:13PM
I've been playing an instant messenger MSH based game for a few years. I play it when I'm not running my own game. The thing about it is that as a judge myself I get a bit peeved with the fantastic power levels of the game. I have an armored hero with a cl 1000 energy cannon and and a shift Z disintegration beam, not to mention that he has growth at shift x and his str is already shift y with body armor of shift z. That means when fully grown (using his +1cs to str and his armor for every 2cs of growth)he could go toe to toe with galactus or something. Its fun i think but only because of the instant gratification of seeing someone else respond as soon as I type

I hate the overpowered nature of the game but I never quit for long. I also hate the fact that the benchmarks are all out of whack. Is this a problem most people have with the instant messenger style MSH games?

the game is run about 4 times a week in private AIM rooms
Re: instant messenger game
May 02, 2006 06:30PM
I've never played by IM. SOunds interesting though. I've done message board gaming and found the enjoyability of that really depends on the group and GM posting regularly. I liked being able to take my time and make descriptive posts but the game was really slow. Highpower games can be fun no matter how you play, but it will always boil down to the group taking time to develope the characters, and the GM to describe the setting. The main problem with high powered campaigns is that they allow a certain level of laziness to enter the campaign. When you can smite entire planets character develpoement can suffer. It's up to the GM to come up with adequate challenges, and not all of them have to be physical in nature.